Professional Development


Professional Development

The office of Professional Development provides several resources to teachers, administrators and schools. In addition to organizing and conducting workshops, we also assist schools in the School Improvement Planning process and help teachers and administrators with renewing their teaching licenses. The office also manages Board Credit, an incentive created by the Board of Education to encourage teachers as they work on professional growth.

For more information about Board Credit, licensure renewal or district initiatives and projects, please select the links below or view the 2017 Fall Staff Development Offerings Booklet.

To register online for workshops listed in the current Staff Development Offerings Booklet, click here.

If you have questions or comments, please direct them to Natalee Bretz, Director of Professional Development, at nbretz@usd116.org.

Professional Development Staff

Full Name Job Title E-mail Address Business Phone
Natalee Bretz Director of Professional Development nbretz@usd116.org 217-384-3582
Katherine Barbour Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and Professional Development kbarbour@usd116.org 217-384-3641
 Jessica Brown PD & Curriculum Coordinator jbrown@usd116.org 217-384-3582
Jessica Abrahamson HR/PD Specialist jabrahamson@usd116.org 217-384-3640
Gabriel Limonez HR/PD Data & Communication Specialist glimonez@usd116.org 217-384-3680
Piper Harvey  HR/PD Secretary  pharvey@usd116.org  217-384-3579

Staff Development Calendar

Board Credit Information

Board Credit is the system of professional development credit that the Board of Education uses to recognize and encourage continual professional growth among certified teachers through advancement on the salary schedule. You can earn board credit for any staff development workshops that you attend that are offered through the district after school or weekends, or you can apply for Board Credit (in advance) for workshops or conferences that you attend that are not on contractual time.

To apply for Board Credit, you must fill out a Board Credit Request form and submit it to the Director of Professional Development before the conference or workshop.

To request Salary Schedule Movement, you must fill out a Request for Movement form and submit it to Human Resources by September 30th.

For more information about Board Credit, please read our Board Credit FAQs »

Teacher Licensure

In 2013, Illinois implemented a new licensure system that replaced the previous certification system. All teaching, administrative, and school service personnel must hold a current and registered license. It is the responsibility of the licensee to know the requirements and process to maintain his/her license.

Read more about teacher licensure >>

Login to the Educator Licensure Information System (ELIS) to access your license and account information >>