Urbana School District Monthly
April 2009
King Elementary
Leal Elementary
Prairie Elementary
Thomas Paine Elementary
Urbana High School
Urbana Middle School
Washington Early Childhood
Wiley Elementary
Yankee Ridge Elementary

2008-09 District #116 Calendar

Wednesday, August 6 and Thursday, August 7
Centralized Registration, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m., Urbana Middle School

Friday, August 8
Centralized Registration, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m., Urbana Middle School

Thursday, August 14
Registration "Make-up Day," 9 a.m. - Noon, Urbana Middle School

Monday, August 25 & Tuesday, August 26
Institute Days - NO SCHOOL

Wednesday, August 27
First Day of Student Attendance for Grades 1-9, Washington EC - New Student/Parents Orientation

Thursday, August 28
All High School in Attendance, Washington EC begin & 1/2 of Kindergarten Students Attend

Friday, August 29
1/2 of Kindergarten Students Attend

Monday, September 1
Labor Day - NO SCHOOL

Tuesday, September 2
All Students in Attendance

Friday, October 10
Staff Development Day Activities – No School for Elementary Students, Early Dismissal UMS: 1:15 p.m. UHS: 12:34 p.m.

Monday, October 13
Fall Holiday - NO SCHOOL

Wednesday, October 29
End of First Quarter (44 student attendance days)

Thursday, November 6
Parent-Teacher Conference - 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Friday, November 7
Parent-Teacher Conference Day - No School for Students - Pre-K - 12 - 8:00 a.m. – Noon

Tuesday, November 11
Veterans Day - NO SCHOOL

Thursday, November 27 - Friday, November 28
Thanksgiving - NO SCHOOL

Friday, December 5
Staff Development Day Activities – No School for Elementary Students, Early Dismissal UMS: 1:15 p.m. UHS: 12:34 p.m.

Friday, December 19
Winter Vacation Begins At Close Of School Day For Students

Monday, January 5
School Resumes At Regular Time

Thursday, January 15
End of First Semester (86 student attendance days)

Friday, January 16
Institute Day – (Teacher Record Day) - NO SCHOOL

Monday, January 19
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr’s Birthday - NO SCHOOL

Friday, January 30
Institute Day - NO SCHOOL

Thursday, February 12
Parent-Teacher Conference - 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Friday, February 13
Parent-Teacher Conference Day - No School for Students - Pre-K - 12 - 8:00 a.m. - Noon

Monday, February 16
President’s Day - NO SCHOOL

Friday, February 20
Staff Development Day Activities – No School for Elementary Students, Early Dismissal UMS: 1:15 p.m. UHS: 12:34 p.m.

Monday, March 23 - Friday, March 27
Spring Break - NO SCHOOL

Monday, March 30
School Resumes

Friday, April 3
End of Third Quarter (46 student attendance days)

Thursday, April 9
Staff Development Day Activities – No School for Elementary Students, Early Dismissal UMS: 1:15 p.m. UHS: 12:34 p.m.

Friday, April 10
Spring Holiday – NO SCHOOL

Friday, May 15
Half-Day Inservice - Early Dismissal Elementary: 12:45 p.m.; UMS: 1:15 p.m. UHS: 12:34 p.m.

Monday, May 25
Memorial Day - NO SCHOOL

Monday, June 8
Last Official School Day (88 attendance days)

April frontpage